Mathematics Prizes

Several prizes are awarded periodically for outstanding mathematical achievement. There is no Nobel Prize in mathematics, and the most prestigious mathematical award is known as the Fields medal. In rough order of importance, other awards are the $100000 Wolf Prize of the Wolf Foundation of Israel, the Leroy P. Steele Prize of the American Mathematical Society, followed by the Bôcher Prize, Cole Prizes in algebra and number theory, and the Delbert Ray Fulkerson Prize, all presented by the American Mathematical Society.

The Clay Mathematics Institute of Cambridge, Massachusetts (CMI) has named seven "Millennium Prize Problems," selected by focusing on important classic questions in mathematics that have resisted solution over the years. A $7 million prize fund has been established for the solution to these problems, with $1 million allocated to each. The problems consist of the Riemann hypothesis, Poincaré conjecture, Hodge conjecture, Swinnerton-Dyer conjecture, solution of the Navier-Stokes equations, formulation of Yang-Mills theory, and determination of whether NP-problems are actually P-problems.

A cash prize of $100000 has been offered for proof or discovery of a counterexample to Beal's conjecture.

In the Season 1 episode "Prime Suspect" (2005) of the television crime drama NUMB3RS, it is mentioned that solving the Riemann hypothesis is one of the Millennium Prize Problems.

See also

Abel Prize, Beal's Conjecture, Bôcher Prize, Cole Prize, Fields Medal, Mathematics Contests, Nevanlinna Prize, Shaw Prize, Unsolved Problems, Wolfskehl Prize

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


More things to try:


American Mathematical Society. "AMS Funds and Prizes." Mathematics Institute. "Millennium Prize Problems.", K. J. The Millennium Problems: The Seven Greatest Unsolved Mathematical Puzzles of Our Time. New York: BasicBooks, 2002.Kimberling, C. "Unsolved Problems and Rewards." History of Mathematics Archives. "The Fields Medal." "Winners of the Bôcher Prize of the AMS." "Winners of the Frank Nelson Cole Prize of the AMS." History of Mathematics Archives. "Mathematical Societies, Medals, Prizes, and Other Honours.", M. Modern Mathematics in the Light of the Fields Medals. Wellesley, MA: A K Peters, 1997."Wolf Prize Recipients in Mathematics."

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Mathematics Prizes

Cite this as:

Weisstein, Eric W. "Mathematics Prizes." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications