Abel Prize

The Abel prize is a new mathematics prize of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, dedicated to the memory of Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829) on the occasion of the bicentenary of his birth. It is modeled after the Nobel Prize, and developed from a proposal by the mathematics department at the University of Oslo in fulfillment of a request formulated by the Norwegian mathematician Sophus Lie towards the end of the 19th century.

The Abel Prize has been awarded annually beginning in the year 2003, as summarized in the following table.

2003Jean-Pierre Serrefor playing a key role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics, including topology, algebraic geometry, and number theory
2004Sir Michael Francis Atiyah and Isadore M. Singerfor their discovery and proof of the Atiyah-Singer index theorem
2005Peter Laxfor his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equations and to the computation of their solutions
2006Lennart Carlesonfor his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems
2007Srinivasa S. R. Varadhanfor his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviations
2008John Griggs Thompson and Jacques Titsfor their profound achievements in algebra and in particular for shaping modern group theory
2009Mikhail Leonidovich Gromovfor his revolutionary contributions to geometry
2010John T. Tatefor his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers
2011John Milnorfor pioneering discoveries in topology, geometry, and algebra
2012Endre Szemerédifor his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and in recognition of the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory
2013Pierre Delignefor seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for their transformative impact on number theory, representation theory, and related fields
2014Yakov Sinaifor his fundamental contributions to dynamical systems, ergodic theory, and mathematical physics
2015John F. Nash, Jr. and Louis Nirenbergfor striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis
2016Andrew Wilesfor his stunning proof of Fermat's Last Theorem by way of the modularity conjecture for semistable elliptic curves, opening a new era in number theory
2017Yves Meyerfor his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets
2018Robert Langlandsfor his visionary program connecting representation theory to number theory
2019Karen Uhlenbeckfor her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics
2020Hillel Furstenberg and Grigory Margulisfor pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics
2021László Lovász and Avi Wigdersonfor their foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics
2022Dennis Sullivanfor his groundbreaking contributions to topology in its broadest sense, and in particular its algebraic, geometric and dynamical aspects
2023Luis Caffarellifor his seminal contributions to regularity theory for nonlinear partial differential equations including free-boundary problems and the Monge-Ampère equation

See also

Atiyah-Singer Index Theorem, Mathematics Prizes

Portions of this entry contributed by Margherita Barile

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


The Abel Prize., A. "Norway Establishes Abel Prize in Mathematics." Not. Amer. Math. Soc. 49, 39-40, 2002.The Office of the Prime Minister of Norway. "Norway Establishes Fund for International Prize in Mathematics to Commemorate Niels Henrik Abel.", E. W. "Peter Lax Receives 2005 Abel Prize." MathWorld Headline News. March 18, 2005.

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Abel Prize

Cite this as:

Barile, Margherita and Weisstein, Eric W. "Abel Prize." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications