Wolf Prize

Five or six Wolf prizes are awarded yearly to outstanding living scientists and artists for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples. In science, the fields are agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics; and in arts, the prize rotates annually among architecture, music, painting and sculpture. The prize in each area consists of a diploma and a cash award of $100,000.

The prize has been awarded since 1978 by the Wolf Foundation, which was established in 1976 by Dr. Ricardo Wolf (1887-1981), inventor, diplomat, and philanthropist, and his wife Francisca Subirana-Wolf (1900-1981), to promote science and art for the benefit of mankind. The table below summarizes Wolf prize recipients in mathematics.

1978Izrail M. Gelfand (Moscow State University, Moscow, USSR)
Carl L. Siegel (Georg-August University, Göttingen, W. Germany)
1979Jean Leray (College de France, Paris, France)
André Weil (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
1980Henri Cartan (Université de Paris, Paris, France)
Andrei N. Kolmogorov (Moscow State University, Moscow, USSR)
1981Lars V. Ahlfors (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)
Oscar Zariski (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)
1982Hassler Whitney (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
Mark Grigor'evich Krein (Ukrainian S.S.R. Academy of Sciences, Odessa, USSR)
1983-84Shiing S. Chern (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
Paul Erdős (Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary)
1984-85Kunihiko Kodaira (The Japan Academy, Tokyo, Japan)
Hans Lewy (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
1986Samuel Eilenberg (Columbia University, N.Y., USA)
Atle Selberg (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
1987Kiyoshi Ito (Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan)
Peter D. Lax (New York University, N.Y., USA)
1988Friedrich Hirzebruch (Max-Planck-Institut and University of Bonn, Bonn, W. Germany)
Lars Hormander (University of Lund, Lund, Sweden)
1989Alberto P. Calderon (University of Chicago, Chicago, USA)
John W. Milnor (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
1990Ennio de Giorgi (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa, Italy)
Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro (Tel-Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel)
1991not awarded
1992Lennart A. E. Carleson (University of Uppsala, Uppsala, Sweden, and UCLA, Los Angeles, USA)
John G. Thompson (University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K.)
1993Mikhael Gromov (Institut des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques (IHES), Bures-Sur-Yvette, France)
Jacques Tits (College de France, Paris, France)
1994-95Jürgen K. Moser (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, Switzerland)
1995-96Robert Langlands (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA)
Andrew J. Wiles (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., USA)
1996-97Joseph B. Keller (Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA)
Yakov G. Sinai (Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., USA and Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics, Moscow, Russia)
1998not awarded
1999László Lovász (Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA and Eőtvős University, Budapest, Hungary)
Elias M. Stein (Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, USA)
2000Raoul Bott (Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass., USA)
Jean-Pierre Serre (College de France, Paris, France)
2001Vladimir I. Arnold (Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia and University Paris-Dauphine, Paris, France)
Saharon Shelah (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel)
2002-03Mikio Sato (Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan)
John T. Tate (Department of Mathematics, University of Texas, Austin, Texas, USA)
2004not awarded
2005Gregory A. Margulis (Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA)
Sergei P. Novikov (University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland, USA)
2006-07Stephen Smale (University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, California USA)
Harry Furstenberg (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel)
2008Pierre R. Deligne (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey, USA)
Phillip A. Griffiths (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey, USA)
David B. Mumford (Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, USA)

See also

Mathematics Prizes

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


Wolf Foundation. "The Wolf Foundation." Foundation. "The Wolf Prizes: Mathematics."

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Wolf Prize

Cite this as:

Weisstein, Eric W. "Wolf Prize." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications