Ramanujan Prize

There are two awards that each go by the name "Ramanujan Prize": the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize and the ICTP Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries.

The Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology, Research Academy (SASTRA) Ramanujan prize is sponsored by the SASTRA academy based in South India, and is given annually to a mathematician not exceeding the age of 32 (the age at which Ramanujan died) for outstanding contributions to an area of mathematics influenced by S. Ramanujan. Awards carry a cash prize of $10,000. The following table summarizes awards to date.

2005M. Bhargava (Princeton University) and K. Soundararajan (University of Michigan)
2006T. Tao (University of California at Los Angeles)
2007B. Green (Cambridge University)
2008A. Venkatesh (Stanford University)
2009K. Bringmann (University of Cologne and University of Minnesota)
2010W. Zhang (Harvard University)
2011R. Holowisnky (Ohio State University)

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) Ramanujan Prize is sponsored by the Italy-based ICTP, funded by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund (which gives the Abel prize), and carries a cash award of $15,000. This prize is awarded annually to a researcher less than the age of 45 who comes from a developing country and has conducted outstanding research in any branch of the mathematical sciences also in a developing country. The following table summarizes awards to date.

2005M. Viana (Instituto Nacional de Matematica Pura e Aplicada, Brazil)
2006R. Sujatha (India)
2007J. Loret (Argentina)
2008E. Pujals (Brazil)
2009E. Lupercio (Mexico)
2010Y. Shi (People's Republic of China)
2011P. Nang (École Normale Supérieure, Laboratoire de Recherche en Mathématiques, Libreville, Gabon)

See also

Abel Prize, Fields Medal

Portions of this entry contributed by Tito Piezas III

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


International Center for Theoretical Physics. "Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries." Mathematics. "SASTRA Ramanujan Prize."

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Ramanujan Prize

Cite this as:

Piezas, Tito III and Weisstein, Eric W. "Ramanujan Prize." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications