Bravais Lattice

In 1850, Bravais demonstrated that crystals were comprised of 14 different types of unit cells: simple cubic, body-centered cubic, face-centered cubic; simple tetragonal, body-centered tetragonal; simple monoclinic, end-centered monoclinic; simple orthorhombic, body-centered orthorhombic, face-centered orthorhombic, end-centered orthorhombic; rhombohedral; hexagonal; and triclinic.

See also

Crystallographic Point Groups

This entry contributed by Ed Pegg, Jr. (author's link)

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


Bodner, G. "Unit Cells."

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Bravais Lattice

Cite this as:

Pegg, Ed Jr. "Bravais Lattice." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource, created by Eric W. Weisstein.

Subject classifications