Alternating Harmonic Series

The alternating harmonic series is the series


which is the special case eta(1) of the Dirichlet eta function eta(z) and also the x=1 case of the Mercator series.

See also

Dirichlet Eta Function, Harmonic Series, Mercator Series, Natural Logarithm of 2

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


Havil, J. Gamma: Exploring Euler's Constant. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, p. 33, 2003.

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Alternating Harmonic Series

Cite this as:

Weisstein, Eric W. "Alternating Harmonic Series." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications