IEEE 754-2008

As of 2014, the IEEE 754-2008 is the most commonly implemented standard for floating-point arithmetic. This framework is a massive overhaul of its predecessor IEEE 754-1985 and includes a built-in collection of guidelines specifying nearly every conceivable aspect of floating-point theory.

The full name of the standard is the IEEE Standard 754-2008 for Floating-Point Arithmetic, though in literature, it is commonly shortened to either IEEE 754-2008 or to IEEE 754 provided there is no confusion.

See also

Arithmetic, Biased Exponent, Floating-Point Algebra, Floating-Point Arithmetic, Floating-Point Exponent, Floating-Point Normal Number, Floating-Point Number, Floating-Point Preferred Exponent, Floating-Point Quantum, Floating-Point Representation, Interval Arithmetic, NaN, Quiet NaN, Signaling NaN, Significand, Subnormal Number

This entry contributed by Christopher Stover

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


IEEE Computer Society. "IEEE Standard for Floating-Point Arithmetic: IEEE Std 754-2008 (Revision of IEEE Std 754-1985)." 2008.

Cite this as:

Stover, Christopher. "IEEE 754-2008." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource, created by Eric W. Weisstein.

Subject classifications