Brahmagupta Matrix

 B(x,y)=[x y; +/-ty +/-x].

It satisfies


Powers of the matrix are defined by

B^n=[x y; ty x]^n
=[x_n y_n; ty_n x_n]

The x_n and y_n are called Brahmagupta polynomials. The Brahmagupta matrices can be extended to negative integers

B^(-n)=[x y; ty x]^(-n)
=[x_(-n) y_(-n); ty_(-n) x_(-n)]

See also

Brahmagupta Identity

Explore with Wolfram|Alpha


Suryanarayan, E. R. "The Brahmagupta Polynomials." Fib. Quart. 34, 30-39, 1996.

Referenced on Wolfram|Alpha

Brahmagupta Matrix

Cite this as:

Weisstein, Eric W. "Brahmagupta Matrix." From MathWorld--A Wolfram Web Resource.

Subject classifications